Skip to Content

Who We Are

Bringing University of Alabama web colleagues together to educate, inform, discuss, innovate, and share

Photo of a 2019 meetup presenation featuring Culverhouse School of Business

We Are A Community

While web creation at the University of Alabama is carried out by many different people from numerous departments, we all share similar challenges, opportunities, and a goal of representing and promoting the University with a high quality online presence. WebTide is a Community of Practice organized by web colleagues at The University of Alabama to help benefit its members and the university by promoting professional development, innovation, and collaboration.

Becoming a member of WebTide means contributing to and benefitting from a wide array of skills, knowledge and experience among other web colleagues. Members have access to all of our communication channels (listserv, Slack, etc.) and receive invitations to all community gatherings which, at a minimum, include a meeting on the third Tuesday of every month where we discuss topics ranging from social media to crisis communication.

The WebTide Facilitators Group

WebTide facilitators work to foster avenues of collaborative engagement for web makers across the UA campus and within the greater high-ed web professional community. This includes event planning and development of community-initiated projects and initiatives. Current facilitators include:

Meagan Bennett
Office of Information Technology

John Hawkins
College of Arts and Sciences

Andrew Richardson
College of Continuing Studies

UA Communities of Practice

WebTide is proud to participate in the UA Communities of Practice forum, an assembly of informal engagement communities, created and organized by campus colleague members, to benefit each other and the University by promoting collaborative professional development, innovation, and education.